jump to navigation

Wringtones November 17, 2006

Posted by dylanhudson in classics, life, other, technology.
trackback

Being the adventurous type, I set out on a noble quest to acquire a ringtone for my crappy budget cell phone. I came upon a site called YourMob.com (mobe? or mob?) which would “cell” (ha ha) me a ringtone for only 99 cents plus the cost of the text (8 billion dollars) and a lot of thumbbreaking work. First, I tried the polyphonic Walk of Life, (a la Duncan). I txtd (I’m hip!) the code to 3636 and soon got a message telling me to go to a website via my phone. My phone refused to load this page, telling me “Bad content encountered.”

Seriously.

So, forging ahead, I went to the alternate location provided and successfully downloaded the file. Now, this ringtone had a bonus feature. Namely, it was silent. Like a ringtone without the ‘ring’ or the ‘tone.’ I assumed this was to protect me from the distractions of someone actually calling. However, that was not what I was expecting. I made sure my phone was compatible, which it is, and tried a different one: “Pinball Wizard.” This one had the same bonus feature. Now I was angry. Having been scammed out of 2$ in silent ringtones and 16 billion in txts, I tried the Monophonic (Latin, mono– crappy, and phonic– beeping) version of Walk of Life. It is the most piss-poor rendition of that song I have ever heard. It sounds like 4 year old playing a plywood xylophone with his shin.

All in all, I’d say it was a success. I’m in debt up to my uvula, but I have 5 second recording of the World’s Crappiest Xylophone.

Now, I would like to point your attention to this video……watched it? Good. Its crackalackin!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

